Denominational Headquarters

The Seventh-day Adventist Church is organized in a way to provide coordination of work within local areas as well as on a global level. There are four constituent levels in the organization. There are five administrative levels. This is due to the fact that the highest administrative level, the General Conference, covers the world church. The next level--the division level--is only a section of the General Conference, so it does not have its own constituency.

The Local Church is the basic level for administration in the Seventh-day Adventist denomination. It is here that members are nurtured and others are sought as potential converts to the faith.

The Local Conference is a collection of churches. The territory (in North America) often covers the area of a state. But there are conferences which include more than one state. There are also states which have been broken up into more than one conference.

The Union Conference is a collection of local conferences. This often covers a few states. Our Union is the Lake Union. It includes the states of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Wisconsin. In places where there are many Seventh-day Adventists in a smaller area, there can even be more than one Union in one city (though this is rather unusual).

The Division (of the General Conference) is a collection of Union conferences. These are normally a collection of countries. Our Union is located in the North American Division which includes Canada and the United States of America. As stated above, this administrative level has no separate constituency (as it is included in the constituency of the General Conference).

The General Conference headquarters are located near Washington, D. C. Its various divisions are located around the globe. They provide more immediate (nearly local) access to the General Conference. You may wish to visit the main web site of our denomination.